Anthony Awards

Among the most prized awards in the world of mystery writers, the Anthony Awards were named after Anthony Boucher, a mystery & crime fiction author, editor, and critic, who was also a founder of the Mystery Writers of America.

Nomination Schedule:

  • Nomination requests will begin on February 28, 2019.

  • The deadline for nominations will be April 30, 2019.

  • Selected nominees will be announced by May 15, 2019.

2019 Categories

  • Best Novel

  • Best First Novel

  • Best Paperback Original

  • Best Critical Nonfiction Work

  • Best Short Story

Works over 22,000 words are considered novels. Under 22,000 words will be considered a short story.